Sometimes, I regret buying something before I’ve even handed the cashier my debit card.

Sometimes, I am also wrong. [gasp!]

Happily, this is an instance where both applied.

I’ve actually been digging the Dentyne Splash line, which shocked me to no end, as I have not-so-fond memories of Tidal Wave gum. Remember that? If you were a product of the eighties you probably tried at least one piece of it or, similarly, Freshen Up. Both of these were gums that went “squirt” when you bit into them, releasing a torrent of sugary syrup into your mouth.

That crap hit me right on the tonsils and made me gag. Luckily, my brothers loved it and were happy to finish my pack.

To summarizee, seeing liquid-filled gums back in the impulse section was not a thrill for me.

But, for the edification of YOU, Dear Reader, I plonked down $1.29 of my hard-won cash (actually, I have no idea how much it was, and I likely used a card of some sort. Ease up. I was being poetic.) and bought it anyhow.

The exterior of the gum is just like Dentyne Ice (a personal favorite) – hard candy shell surrounding a medium-soft chicle. But this one hides a surprise inside.

Like ALL liquids of the future (or at least, how they seem to work in The Jetsons) – this liquid is not a liquid. It’s a gel. Much better for my sensitive tonsils.

The mint chocolate flavor features a gentle mint outside and a faintly chocolately gel. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts – once you combine the two flavors/textures together, you get something akin to an Andes candy that lasts more than 3.5 seconds. . . and that you don’t have to pay $20 at the Olive Garden for (or am I the only one who gets their Andes candies that way?). Don’t get me wrong – this does not have the longevity of an Extra or a Dentyne Ice, but it lasts longer than many of the fruit gum varieties I’ve reviewed on this site, with much less of a nasty aftertaste, to boot.

It’s a surprising favorite of mine! Definitely worth a try.

Rating: ♦♦♦♦ out of ♦♦♦♦♦.

